top of page

Scholarships / Financial Aid

KuukpikWORKS is a resource for Kuukpik shareholders. Along with employment and training opportunities, our goal is to provide shareholders with valuable and meaningful connections to resources to continue building workforce capacity.

Kuukpik Conoco Scholarship Program

Knowledge is the primary reasons Kuukpikmiut exists. A priority for shareholders, management and the Board of Directors has been a scholarship committee formed by the Foundation in 2001.  The Kuukpikmiut Foundation administers the Kuukpik Conoco Scholarship Program, which is available to eligible shareholders and children of shareholders who are enrolled as full-time students in a post-secondary education school. An average of 12 scholarships are awarded per year, providing students with tuition, books and associated educational fees.

Arctic Education Foundation

The AEF Scholarship is offered four times a year with the application deadline dates on August 1st, December 1st, March 1st and May 1st. AEF applicants must file an application for funding every semester or quarterly term. The goal of the foundation is to partially finance students who are furthering their education beyond high school or to become job ready. Applicants must meet eligibility requirements to receive funding and must supply all documents required.

BHS Alumni Scholarship

This annual scholarship is made to Barrow High School seniors graduating each spring semester.  The program is made possible from donations from supports of Barrow High School, including BHS Alumni, educators, administrators, and family and friends of BHS.

Arctic Slope Native Association—Guy Okakok Scholarship

In support of Arctic Slope Native Association’s mission to promote the health and well-being of the people of the Arctic Slope, the Guy Okakok, Sr. Scholarship will be offered to tribal members of the Arctic Slope region who are interested in health care or social service careers.

ASTAC Scholarship Program

ASTAC awards four $2,000 scholarships to two senior high school students and two students
currently enrolled in post-secondary education from our serving territory.

City of Utqiagvik—Eben Hopson, Sr. Memorial Scholarship

Scholarships for residents of Utqiagvik.

Johnny Lee Aiken Memorial Scholarship

Johnny L. Aiken was the AEWC Executive Director from 2010 - 2013. He dedicated most of his life to public service and the betterment of his community through his work on the North Slope. Scholarship applicants must be from one of the 11 whaling villages represented by the Alaska Eskimo Whaling Commission.

BUECI—Beverly Maasak Ahgeak Memorial Scholarship

The Cooperative provides scholarships of $1,500 to five graduating seniors of Barrow High School annually. The amount and number of scholarships may be changed by the board of directors.

Applicants are required to be a high school senior who resides in Barrow, Alaska and must be a dependent of an active cooperative member.  Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher and complete questions related to utilities, goals, and community involvement.

The CIRI Foundation Education Resources Handbook

TCF’s Education Resources Handbook contains many scholarship opportunities for Alaska Native people. Some require tribal membership, proof of a certain blood quantum, or specific residency status.

FAFSA Application

Federal student aid application.

bottom of page